Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

Under Pressure

leave a comment »

Well its that time of year, NCAA March Madness, NBA, and in between paintings I watch basketball. I love basketball. If I had been 6’9” and 230lbs and could leap tall buildings, I would have been a basketball player. “I could have been a contender, I could have been somebody”. Alas, I’m just my body, which is fine. I watch these young men and women, being scrutinized, being made accountable by “Talking TV Heads” for things that maybe their young minds and bodies are not ready for. Stuff like “She should have passed the ball. That was a silly foul, what was he thinking” Its constant criticism, pitting one individual against another, be they dead or alive. Like this past week, Kobe Bryant found out that he is not the next Mike Jordan, but that Dwayne Wade has become MJ. I just wonder whose body Michael Jordan is using now that Dwayne Wade is occupying his.

Some people have asked that I consider teaching an art class which I think I would like to do. So I have been thinking about what I would want to teach, like the particulars. I’ve done some work on creativity, the kind of work you need to do in order to be different. Then it hit me, we all spend a lot of time and energy trying to be different. you know, like being somebody else.


Me with a mug by Cybel Martin

Written by Bob Martin

March 25, 2006 at 4:20 pm

Posted in Art

Leave a Reply

