Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

Keeping things simple

with 2 comments

I've been working hard on finding a balance between abstract and detail. At times I need to be rescued from myself. I will keep making my work more complicated then it needs to be and then I am disappointed. When I leave the studio for lunch, someone should just come in take what ever is on my easel, frame it and hide it from me. It would help if they paid for too, but I would settle for the painting being hidden for a while.
Sketch by Bob

Conti drawing Bob Martin 1994 (c)

Written by Bob Martin

May 10, 2006 at 10:19 pm

Posted in Art

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is always a problem: when to stop on a picture. On approach is to take a good hard look (after lunch, say) before going further. Another is to do more than one picture at a time. It might be that the picture that need the work more will be the one you chose to work on, and that the other one gets protected from being overworked. Just ideas….

    Karl Zipser

    May 22, 2006 at 7:05 pm

  2. Be careful what you wish for. I am sure there are people who would be more than willing to take your painting out of your studio, frame it and hang it in their office and call it theirs.

    Anyway – I think its all about batting averages. Even the greatest shooting guard over shoots or falls short occassionally. If you were to look at the majority of your work, you’d see that you usually stop just when you need to.

    auntiecarrie

    May 22, 2006 at 11:30 pm


Leave a Reply

