Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

Keep Standing

with 6 comments

When that horse (I am not into racing) was hurt after winning the Kentucky Derby the thing I learned was that there are ways to repair a horse’s broken leg (no problem, modern medicine) but that the horse would be doomed if he/she didn’t stand and stay standing. That’s what horse do, they stand and they run. I had not understood this before.

Painting has become like that. I am doomed (maybe to heavy a word) if I am not painting. Some of my painting buddies and I have begun doing one small painting a day taking a cue from Duane Keise I am noticing with the objective of getting something done vs. getting something right, I am much happier at the end of the day. So Keep on Painting.

Written by Bob Martin

June 1, 2006 at 1:45 pm

Posted in Art, Painting

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have been having this same feeling recently. Fiction writers make a point of writing every single day when they are working on a book. Otherwise the story gets lost. Art is somewhat different, because a painting expands across space rather than through time. You can look at a neglected painting and see it all at once, but you can’t read a manuscript in an instant. And yet the continuity of the project, the meaning, the story in the artist’s mind, this seems to demand attention or it gets lost, and the losing of it is not pretty. When I stop painting even for a day (a normal thing for a Saturday with kids) I find myself in trouble lately. But if I can find the time to do some painting each day, everything seems better. It seems that the muse can be a jealous being.

    Karl Zipser

    June 5, 2006 at 7:02 pm

  2. Very true. I think painting everyday help with the rhythm of painting. One of the many things that I have discovered about myself since starting this blog is that I held every painting start as if “this is it”. What I understand about writers is that they write with the expectation that they will have to edit There is this confidence that they can always get the rhythm back.

    Bob Martin

    June 5, 2006 at 7:50 pm

  3. Are you a full time painter? Can someone like me who work as a programmer during the day and who blog at night starts painting a piece a day? I love paintings. I thought I was not bad at it when I was a kid. I bought a couple of books on painting a long while ago thinking I would start doing it again. No, I have not. The closest I have been at it is when I need to administer my kids when they decided they want to paint. Any suggestion on how to start? By the way, the two paintings you recently posted are beautiful.

    myusri

    June 7, 2006 at 11:53 am

  4. Myuri, having kids is a wonderful way to follow-up on your painting. Kids are natural about this form of communication and I would include them at every opportunity. This is real quality time spent with your children that they will never forget. As far as finding a moment to explore your own paintings I suggest that you always have a painting ready to work on. Try doing a painting a day. The can small paintings, tiny even, but the point is to keep finding ways to work. We all waste a lot of time each day, believing that there is not enough time to do what we want. You can have it all. Yes I paint full time, except when I’m cooking, washing, going to meetings, coaching, teaching, feeding the dog, contacting galleries, being a husband and father. In other words, I find the time somehow. I would love to see one of your paintings.

    Bob Martin

    June 8, 2006 at 12:05 am

  5. Thanks Bob. This is very profound. I hadn’t thought about “standing” in this way. A horse cannot live without “standing”. Wow! Puts a new twist on the meaning of “standing” for something. Like Nelson Mandela (even while in prison), Martin Luther King (even when he knew he was in danger and long since dead), Gandhi (ditto), “standing” for Freedom. It’s the realization that as long as they breathed, they were compelled to “stand” for that thing called Freedom. And even though their breath is now gone – what they for “stood” remains. In this context, a painting per day sounds like “standing” to me.

    Pauline

    September 14, 2006 at 3:01 pm

  6. Thanks Pauline, a new and wonderful way to think about this. WOW

    Bob Martin

    September 14, 2006 at 3:23 pm


Leave a Reply

