Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

Artist Groups and Associations

with 7 comments

An artist I recently met via a group that I am “distantly involved with” was disappointed with the lack of support she was receiving from the group. As we talked I could see that her accomplishment without the group, in terms of getting her work seen around town, was good. I suggested that she might consider being a member of a group as a way to contribute vs. a place to get support. I find myself avoiding groups as I always question the benefits belonging to something. But when I am not looking for any direct benefit and see ways that I can help/support is when I gain the most.

I just came accross this article on aging artist and belonging to groups by the New York Foundation for Artist. This gives me some additional reasons and types of groups to belong to.

Written by Bob Martin

July 15, 2006 at 6:41 pm

Posted in Art, Artists, Painting

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great Blog, I shall come to visit more often.
    I personally work better on my own although I belong to the Creatives Business Group of South Wales, UK. I must say that most of my profits come from my own individual dos, the Group is just another arm of help.

    Angela Ferreira

    July 16, 2006 at 6:00 pm

  2. Thank you for your support and words of wisdom! Love your site.

    Shakur

    July 16, 2006 at 6:45 pm

  3. I think that the big lesson in life is that when all is said and done it’s up to us.

    Bob Martin

    July 16, 2006 at 7:03 pm

  4. I wanted to read the article you’ve mentioned but there seems to be something wrong with the link.

    Ujwala

    July 18, 2006 at 4:59 am

  5. The link should work now.

    Bob Martin

    July 18, 2006 at 5:13 am

  6. found the article. good advice.
    http://www.nyfa.org/level3.asp?id=485&fid=6&sid=17

    Ujwala

    July 18, 2006 at 5:15 am

  7. Interesting article … now if I can just find someone to help me with all that business for aging artists. lol.
    Your artwork is stunning, beautiful. Thank you for visiting my blog.

    blumoon

    July 26, 2006 at 6:04 pm


Leave a Reply

