Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

Learning how to paint

with 2 comments

I have decided to work a little slower and to consider what I’ve done (reflect) before moving forward. Most times I am just making stuff up. Like this painting which is the same painting from an earlier post. After taking this photo, I’ve noticed a ton of stuff that I will change, stuff that for some reason I couldn’t see before.

Written by Bob Martin

July 26, 2006 at 11:07 pm

Posted in Art, Painting, Paintings

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How do you work from? Do you use a model or a photograph? Or is purely from imagination?

    Angela Ferreira

    July 27, 2006 at 8:17 am

  2. I have a thought about what I would like to work on and do a rough layout on a canvas or board. Then I try to solve all of the problems by finding reference that can help. Sometimes they are drawings that I’ve done, or photos from magazines, like someone sitting on a couch. I may be using four, five or more things for reference, like a hand from a drawing I like etc. If I am lucky there is a point where the painting gets a rhythm and the problems that need to get solved are about what I am trying to communicate, which has me worry less about the correctness of the painting. I want to learn how to take good photos to use as reference but I’ve not done a great job at this yet. I love working from life (using a model), but that is costly, so I make do. When ever I can a group of my friends and I hire a model for the day.

    Bob Martin

    July 27, 2006 at 12:59 pm


Leave a Reply

