Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

Learning from your own work

with 2 comments

At some point in attempting to develop a “style” or personal voice in my work, I find that I am really teaching and learning from myself. That the biggest source improvement for what I doing comes from my examination of what I’ve done. This painting, which is in progress, is one that I’m still searching for answers. Because there is not a model I’ve gone to taking photos of the its early stages, and using them as a reference as I go forward.

What I can do for you

“What I Can do for You” (WIP)

By Bob Martin

Written by Bob Martin

July 27, 2006 at 7:29 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How do you feel about showing work in progress?
    Isn’t it hard to paint without a live reference i.e a model?
    I look foward to see you finished piece.

    Angela Ferreira

    July 29, 2006 at 8:32 am

  2. I don’t like to show or talk about work that I’ve not completed. I find that people’s comments be they positive or negative take me off course. They become stops. My wife will ask “are you done with that painting yet” and if I say no, she will say something like “I’ll wait to tell you that I like it”. I posted these wip because I want this blog to be a source of learning for me and maybe for others. Its helped me already.

    As far as not having a live model to paint from, its difficult at first, but there is a great deal to learn about what we already know. Stuff that is hidden in our brain about the color of things, what happens when light hits the forehead etc. Working without an original sources gives me the chance to make something up. I love working with a model when I can but its more important to me that I continue to work with or without a model.

    I hope to finish this painting next week (and not screw it up, which happens often) and will repost it then. It already looks a lot different.

    Bob Martin

    July 29, 2006 at 4:57 pm


Leave a Reply

