Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

More on the work that it takes to being an “Artist”.

with 5 comments

The last couple of weeks I’ve been watching Roger Federer and Tiger Woods and what I can say about both is that they never look like they are struggling. They go about doing their jobs in a calm and committed way. I think they are able to do this because of the amount time they spent on getting and staying good. Both of these athletes (any many others) I consider to be artist They are not dependant on some outside authority to define them, like the “Art Elite” or the “Art Establishment” Watching them I am emotionally moved by their play. I find myself going “wow” when Tiger hits a putt into the hole from what looks like 50 feet away.

Pain If I were fortunate enough to study tennis with Federer it is doubtful that I would ever play the game in such a beautiful and artistic way. But if I put in the time and was as committed to the work I could eventually create my own beautiful and artistic way of playing the game.

I think this is the same for painters. When I first came back to painting, after being lost for a time, I would only refer to myself as a painter and only at the point that I believed that I was creating an emotional impact on the viewer did I start to speak of myself as an “Artist”. (Not at all suggesting that others do this, this is just my own personal madness) People were hearing what I was saying in my paintings (like a secret code). Like magic. I was amazed, caused my paintings don’t look like Dinnerstein, Peter Cox, Laffel, or Ted Seth Jacobs and others that I studied with. My paintings kind of look like my paintings.

“Pain” (c) “87

Bob Martin

Written by Bob Martin

September 9, 2006 at 7:06 pm

Posted in Art, Artist, Artists

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like your work a lot–this painting is not only beautiful but conveys a lot of feeling…I found myself thinking about the life of this woman. I also really appreciate your writing and the links to other interesting writing about art. I wrote about art as sport (sort of the reverse of what you’re talking about here) http://janabouc.wordpress.com/2006/06/04/watercolor-and-golf/

    I’m so glad you commented on my blog–gave me a chance to visit yours and I look forward to reading and seeing more.

    Jana Bouc

    September 10, 2006 at 4:26 pm

  2. Thanks Jana. When I was sick at the time of painting this. I was in a lot of pain and on breaks needed to lay down. Her expression was my expression, the truth is that she was a very happy model.

    I had wanted to comment about the painting you did of you and your mom, but I got distracted or something. I had done a lot of drawings of my mom when she was in the hospital, but I have not been able to find them since moving out west. I will peak in on your site to see what you are up to. Be well.

    Bob Martin

    September 10, 2006 at 11:55 pm

  3. Finding your work was like discovering a new author or musician that really speaks to you. I’m grateful that your paintings do look like your paintings.

    Neil Hollingsworth

    September 12, 2006 at 10:51 pm

  4. What a wonderful comment!! Thanks Neil

    Bob Martin

    September 13, 2006 at 12:33 am

  5. Your work is beautiful. There’s something special in the figures.. a peaceful serenity, or a calm sort of focus. And I love what you said about the investment – in time, application, thought & study – necessary to be an artist. I agree, but hadn’t stopped to articulate it so well.

    Belinda Del Pesco

    September 14, 2006 at 1:57 pm


Leave a Reply

