Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

Learning How to Paint #2

with 8 comments

One of the basic ways to learn anything is to study and even copy what others do better. Hopefully you begin to develop your own voice, but some how all of what you’ve learned that is good stays with you and shows up in your work. I think that’s the point that Francine Prose makes in her book Reading Like a Writer.

Bob Dylan has come under scrutiny lately because of some of his lyrics which may or may not have been ripped off from something he read. Original thought is rare and we live day to day mostly from what we have learned. So are we all fakes?

This painting is one that I copied from Jacob Collins as way for me to learn something that will eventually show up in one my paintings. I don’t have the same skill level as JC and there should be no comparison, but my use of color and brush strokes is mine and I’ve learned more about how to frame/layout a head.

Written by Bob Martin

September 14, 2006 at 8:04 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Stunning painting. I haven’t seen the original, but this is so powerful! Beautiful work! Your commentary about art is always so interesting.

    Jana Bouc

    September 15, 2006 at 4:55 am

  2. Thanks Jana, You can see Jacob Collin’s painting by clicking on his name. It is a very powerful painting that I think he might call a sketch.

    Bob Martin

    September 15, 2006 at 5:33 am

  3. Beautiful. Your paintings are so expressive. You really capture the essence of the people you paint. In regards to original thought being rare, here is a quote I like:

    “The secret to creativity is knowing how to hide your sources.” ~Albert Einstein

    blumoon

    September 15, 2006 at 5:57 am

  4. Thanks Jana and DL. You can find the JC org painting by clicking on his name in the post. The Albert Einstein quote says it all.

    Bob Martin

    September 15, 2006 at 12:25 pm

  5. I looked at the original and I like yours better. The original is a really powerful and descriptive picture. But yours is so evocative and more interesting for the viewer since it leaves something to the imagination looking into the depths. I also noticed the way you captured the soft hair of his beard. You also make him look like a sensitive emotional person instead of just an image of a guy.

    Jana Bouc

    September 18, 2006 at 3:56 pm

  6. Thanks Jana. I am sure this happens for other artist as well, but at some point in a painting I try to find somebody I know in the painting. Maybe it’s me? I don’t know, for sure however with every painting I seem to abandon the source (model) and just paint.

    Bob Martin

    September 18, 2006 at 4:30 pm

  7. Really nicely done … I found your blog through Jana’s and I’m glad I did.

    Karen

    Karen

    September 20, 2006 at 6:34 am

  8. Karen thanks for stopping by.

    Bob Martin

    September 21, 2006 at 11:57 pm


Leave a Reply

