Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

Wanting to be in Control of your art

with 9 comments

Recently a good friend (artist) and I were talking about the competitiveness among artists, wanting to be the best. An example of this is the feeling you get when you walk into a workshop and begin to size up the other artists. The thoughts range anywhere to “I’m the best” (in relationship to the instructor) to “I better find a less advance class”.

At about the same time someone called my cell wanting to buy 3 of my paintings at a reduced price and I wanted to be a victim (my choice) about not getting the respect blah blah blah and my friend interrupted my thought and said isn’t wonderful someone wants to own 3 of your paintings.

Later I thought more about our conversation and it struck me that maybe as long as I keep comparing myself to someone else it becomes more difficult be me. I know this is like a constant theme of mine, but it seems that we are always looking for others to define our work and wanting to be better then another artist is another way of doing this. So it is a kind of trap. I found this blog and essay Gnostic World of Candy Minx I Blame the Artist on Art & Perception as a part of Karl’s discussion about What is Art, a very good read.

Competition happens in a environment where there are a clear set of rules that everyone has agreed on. If the basketball goes in the basket, if you miss the tennis ball, if you cross the line first etc. But being creative in how you express yourself? I think we all want to get better at expressing ourselves. I just want to be careful about expressing myself like someone else, just cause someone may want more of my (you know, thank goodness not the other guy’s) paintings.

Noon
Noon (c) 06 by Bob Martin

Written by Bob Martin

September 23, 2006 at 7:07 pm

Posted in Art, Artist, Painting

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. When I see other artist works, most of the time I’m in awe and wonder what kind of person they are, how does their mind crate such visions….. only to compliment. Everyone has their own essence/tastes and I think thats fabulous! Adore you work!

    Shakur

    September 25, 2006 at 7:06 pm

  2. Hi Shakur, thanks for checking in with the blog, good to here from you.

    Bob Martin

    September 25, 2006 at 7:53 pm

  3. HI!!! How are you? Great to “meet” you and thanks for the shout out!

    I think you’ve made a great insight…that works on all feilds and that is the idea of comparing each other. Measuring stature can be a lot of fun, like top ten favourite movies or books…but ultimately…I think there is room for everybody. And all stories(visual narratives included) are one. We make art built on art, on everything we feel and see…and comparing is a limited way of not just looking at others, but looking at ourselves.

    Always remember, there are more paintings in you…you are not limited! Don’t be afraid to sell your work, you’re always going to be making more!

    Cheers,
    Candy

    Candy Minx

    September 27, 2006 at 12:24 pm

  4. Hi Candy, great to meet you as well. You are right on target with the traps we create for ourselves when we compare (or judge) ourselves vs. others. It was once fun, but top ten count downs, when taken seriously are getting old. Thanks for your voice which adds sanity to the conversation. Also thanks for coming by to see me.
    Bob

    Bob Martin

    September 27, 2006 at 1:16 pm

  5. Hey Bob! How is it going… three paintings?
    Here you go the answer to your accomplishment as an artist, what can be more successful than people actually buying?
    Don’t feel bad about selling them, remember they got the product but you still got the factory 😉
    All the best!

    Angela Ferreira

    September 27, 2006 at 9:11 pm

  6. Hi Angela, you are wonderful. Yes I’ve got the factory. As some one said with regards to ideas, “there are many more where that came from”
    Bob

    Bob Martin

    September 27, 2006 at 9:26 pm

  7. My feeling has always been… a sale is a sale is a sale… congrats!

    dailypaintings

    September 30, 2006 at 5:58 pm

  8. Hey Bob would you kindly give me your opinion about what you think about painting the sides of the canvas in my latest post please.
    Thank you 😉

    Angela Ferreira

    October 4, 2006 at 9:36 pm

  9. Angela, I will take a look and comment right away.

    Bob Martin

    October 4, 2006 at 10:06 pm


Leave a Reply

