Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

Working from Life-In a Group

with 3 comments

Young Lady Last week a group of us got together to paint from a live model. I hadn’t done this is a while and started out slow. In the group was an artist that is pretty well known who got to the point of the his painting very quickly and I noticed this urge deep inside my brain to try and work faster. Luckily I caught myself, stilled my brain and said just pretend that you are Bob Martin, what would he do?

Written by Bob Martin

October 12, 2006 at 12:41 am

Posted in Art, Artists, Paintings

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wow! she’s gorgeous. i think i’m going to stay away from the computer for some time and work on my drawing / painting skills 😀

    Ujwala

    October 12, 2006 at 3:22 pm

  2. Looks really good Bob! Paintings from life are always so much better, the greatest way of learning.
    When I share the studio with other artists, they become really frustrated. I don’t really mean it but I am a very fast concentrated artist, I can paint elaborated detailed canvas in short periods but that’s because I been painting since I am a child and also have improved my concentration in meditation classes. It’s just the way I work…

    Angela Ferreira

    October 12, 2006 at 7:27 pm

  3. Thanks Ujwala and Angela for your comments. I’ve been trying to pay attention to the conversation that I have with myself when ever I am in a new situation with artist that I don’t know personally. It must be human nature to be competitive, which is a form of scarcity as I think about it. I get a little disappointed in myself when ever I feel that competitive urge, because it takes me away from developing myself.
    Bob

    Bob Martin

    October 13, 2006 at 12:44 pm


Leave a Reply

