Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

Artist-Why we do what we do?

with 5 comments

First of all to avoid disappointment, I liked to say that I certainly do not have the answer to this.

Yesterday I spent the day with several artist, painting and talking about anything that we found interesting from the history of the west to Tiger Woods. We talked about how being a painter was an unreasonable mistress and that at times this made it difficult to maintain a relationship. I reflected on how many artist I know came back to painting after they had raised a family etc.

We all had varied backgrounds, from different parts of the US and our own points of views on why the world was working or falling apart. There was however no disagreement in that artist/painters just have to do art. There is a line in the Rufus Wainwright  song- “Beautiful Child”

“Such a beautiful, beautiful child again

When I have finally found my room filled with toys

Be banging on my crib excited by noise”

This joy that I experience when painting is a child like bless. If anyone would like to add to this, please do.

Written by Bob Martin

October 21, 2006 at 5:48 pm

Posted in Art

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Because you are the conduit of the collective soul!

    space555

    October 21, 2006 at 6:42 pm

  2. I feel that I am not my complete self if I am not creating. Even now that I’m busy raising a toddler and have little time to paint, the days when I do not at least sketch can feel so dull and flat. It is when I am creating something that I feel at peace with myself and happy.

    Jeane

    October 23, 2006 at 5:45 pm

  3. Hi Jeane and Space
    This peace and happiness that we have doing what we love is something that I wish the rest of the planet would understand and join in.

    Bob Martin

    October 23, 2006 at 11:26 pm

  4. Hello Bob! This post really reminded me of a well known Portuguese poet called Fernando Pessoa which I can try to translate. It goes like this:

    The child that I was cries by the road
    I left him there when I came to be what I am
    But today, seeing what I am is nothing
    I want get back the child I was, where I left…

    Might sound a bit melodramatic but it deeply touches me,
    X

    Angela

    Angela Ferreira

    October 26, 2006 at 8:40 pm

  5. Angela, not melodramatic at all. We were much wiser as kids and unfortunately the wisdom only returns when we are old.
    Bob

    Bob Martin

    October 27, 2006 at 4:04 am


Leave a Reply

