Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

What goes on in our Brain

with 12 comments

I’ve hit this point where everything I do sucks. It must be the loaming holidays. It is for sure not the cool weather. Every year starting about now, I hunger for January 2nd. Great stuff happens during the holiday season but just seems to cost a lot and it interferes with my painting.  So I don’t kill anymore canvases, I am looking at a butch of old stuff I did (that I hated at the time) when I decided to return to painting.

Written by Bob Martin

November 2, 2006 at 5:49 pm

Posted in Art, Artists, Painting, Paintings

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello Bob!
    When did you paint this one? Is it a self-portrait?

    Angela Ferreira

    November 2, 2006 at 10:37 pm

  2. a professor in college always told me the same thing when I complained about anything: “paint your way through it.” It made my ears burn, but it’s very true. Hang in there.

    Ashley, painting journalist
    http://www.ashleycecil.com

    Ashley

    November 3, 2006 at 2:54 am

  3. Hi Angela
    I painted this back in 1988 when I was studying with Harvey Dinnerstein. It’s a painting that I was thinking about wiping out when Harvey came over and utter the sound “uh-um” which was both a compliment and an indication that he saw something I couldn’t see. Now this painting is one of my favorites, mainly because it reminds me that often I am the least informed about what I am doing.

    Bob Martin

    November 3, 2006 at 3:24 pm

  4. Hello Ashley
    Thanks for stopping by. I’ve figured out that at this point I don’t have a choice, I’ll just keep on painting. But every once in a while (not often I hope) I get melodramatic, it seems to release some pressure.

    Bob Martin

    November 3, 2006 at 3:33 pm

  5. I thought this was a self portrait as well. It certainly evokes an amazing amount of emotion in me.
    About this … ‘everything I do sucks’ thing. We all go through it. Imagine, you nearly wrote this gorgeous painting off at one point. That would have been a huge mistake. We wouldn’t have gotten to see it! 🙂
    You know, the paintings I have felt the worst about when I was doing them, or just after I finished them. turned out to be some of the best I had done(selling the quickest too).
    Oh and Bob … at least you are painting, which is more I can say for myself. I haven’t done anything in a month!

    blumoon

    November 4, 2006 at 7:46 pm

  6. I love the dreadlocks and the red… very sensual!!!

    Angela Ferreira

    November 4, 2006 at 8:28 pm

  7. Is is smart to hesitate painting over things, we can’t jugde our own work because we are too close to it.I,ve painted over somw very good stuff and now all I have is a memory. People can’t see those.

    amber lounder

    November 5, 2006 at 1:13 pm

  8. This is still one of my favorites in the “Bob Martin Catalogue”. Beautiful in it’s simplicity. I like the advice of “painting your way through it”.

    Cybel

    November 7, 2006 at 2:48 pm

  9. I go through periods like this as well. It’ll pass as you well know. I love January and February-it’s a great time up here to hunker down, produce work and do some experimenting too.

    I like this piece, it’s very nice.

    Tracy Helgeson

    November 7, 2006 at 6:05 pm

  10. I should be ashamed of myself. I go over the top sometimes about how feel about my work. I am sure that I am influenced by all the political ads. (They end Today!!!) But sometimes it helps for me to scream at myself, wake-up, be better, say more in the work. I can’t afford to be satisfied. Thanks all for listening.
    Bob

    Bob Martin

    November 7, 2006 at 6:42 pm

  11. is he wearing a glasses?i like how you do the dreadlox pretty unique nice painting men keep it up what does he have in his pocket?his eyes says he’s sad,is he sad?and if so why is he sad?for it tells something about him what he is seeing too…

    Juarex Lewis

    November 9, 2006 at 1:15 am

  12. He is wearing glasses. Re the sadness, I don’t think he was sad, no way to know.
    Bob

    Bob Martin

    November 9, 2006 at 2:45 am


Leave a Reply

