Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

And I Was Just Helping Out

with 10 comments

I recently volunteered some advise on how to solve a painting problem to one of our fellow bloggers. Before hitting that submit button I re-read what I had written and in that crazy way we have of talking to ourselves, I said why don’t you follow your own advise.

This is a study I started as a result. I am trying to let the different colors create the form in the faces, eventually losing most if not all of the drawing lines. The other issue I am looking to work out is the merging of the two heads

Written by Bob Martin

November 16, 2006 at 7:04 am

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Aren’t we too honest sometimes without noticing… hehehe!

    Nice painting Bob, could you paint an African woman with the towel wrapping style in her head and a big bead necklace?

    Angela Ferreira

    November 16, 2006 at 8:11 pm

  2. Angela, I’ve always wanted to do a painting like that. I’ll do one next week and post it.

    Bob Martin

    November 16, 2006 at 10:03 pm

  3. was it me 😛 thank you for all your help. I love this painting and it makes the process clearer having see the wip. This is the finished version right? it is great to see how you’ve seperated the two faces inspite of the colors being the same.

    i’m thinking of working on references of unknown people until my painting skills improve and i’m able to get the loose style that i like. I seem to manage it in my digital paintings :S i’m not happy with the blended, smooth effect that i have currently on the oils. thanks again.

    Ujwala

    November 17, 2006 at 12:37 pm

  4. Great!!! Really looking forward to see it 🙂

    Angela Ferreira

    November 17, 2006 at 5:05 pm

  5. Ujwala, yes it was you, thanks for your help. This is a little painting that came from some of the things I talked to you about. It is not finished. I do a lot of small paintings thinking that one day they will be a part of a larger painting.

    I’ve never learned how to do portraits but I think there some guidelines that make it easier do. I will be hanging out with some really great portrait painters early in Dec. and asked them to give me some pointers and pass them on to you.

    In the meantime just keep painting and maybe don’t get to concerned about getting a likeness. I love the Picasso quote when Gertrude Stein complained about his portrait of her. Supposedly she said ” Why this doesn’t look like me” and his response was “In time it will”. He was right. His Painting is the best known reference to power of her personality.

    Bob Martin

    November 18, 2006 at 12:39 pm

  6. Hi Bob – it’s a really nice study. The modelling – particularly of his forehead – is terrific.

    dailypaintings

    November 19, 2006 at 4:25 am

  7. Thank you very much Bob. I love hearing from you as the advice you give is constructive and with measures on how to sort out the problem. I cant even begin to tell you how much I appreciate your help. Happy Thanksgiving (in case you celebrate it)

    Ujwala

    November 20, 2006 at 6:10 pm

  8. Thanks Jeff
    I’ve been looking for ways to carry and balance the shifts in color like I did in the forehead, throughout the whole painting. I will continue pushing on.

    Bob Martin

    November 20, 2006 at 6:33 pm

  9. Ujwala
    I really enjoy being able to help. I used to do personal coaching and learned how important it is to support people in what it is that they want to do and not in what you think they should be doing. I am learning that that way of thinking goes well in any environment. Thanks for being open to my suggestions.

    Re: Thanksgiving-I get to cook the Turkey and watch Football for hours. Hooray. Be well and we will talk again soon.

    Bob Martin

    November 20, 2006 at 6:44 pm

  10. Bob, this painting grabbed me and pulled me in. Not sure about techniques and what have you – but I do know what resonates with me. It touched something deep in me – maybe the expressions on their faces, maybe the coloring or the sombreness of the moods. Whatever “it” is – keep doing it – it works for me!

    Pauline

    November 28, 2006 at 5:58 pm


Leave a Reply

