Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

Day To Remember

with 11 comments

There will be lots written today about John Lennon, his importance etc. I recall the day because it was one of my worst days. I was in bed sick, couldn’t walk and thinking, rather more like promising myself, that I would stop fooling myself. I hated pretending to be a “business man”. The randomness of Lennon’s death was a kind of wake up alarm.

I hit the snooze button.

A day or two later when I could walk a little, my kid had this great idea and asked if I would limp down to her school and teach drawing to her 6 grade class. I had never done this before, but it connected for me. The alarm was still ringing.

I hit the snooze button.

There were tons of alarms and clues and eventually I woke up. Sure sometimes I think about the time I wasted not painting, being around artist. Those feelings quickly fade as soon as I pick up a brush.

Thanks Kid.

Written by Bob Martin

December 8, 2006 at 3:10 pm

Posted in Art, Artist, Music, Painting

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Bob, yes I remember the day too, very well. Still saddened by the whole thing.
    Maybe you would like to read my post about John Lennon on one of my other blogs:

    http://blumoon.blog.ca/

    You seem to produce a lot of work. You must paint non-stop. I always enjoy seeing your paintings. So filled with expression.
    I need to get a grip … haven’t touched my brushes in six weeks. Working through some stuff which is going to pay off in the long run. I feel it won’t be long now before another blitz.
    Paint on.

    blumoon

    December 8, 2006 at 6:04 pm

  2. It’s crazy how fast time moves if you let it. It’s also amazing how an event (out there) becomes a milestone for a new point of view (inside us).

    Very nice site (Shadows). Had trouble loading it at first.

    You seem to be into a lot of different things. Hope you get back to painting soon. But getting something to “pay off” is important and sometimes distracting.

    I painting six to seven days a week. (I need storage space or to sell more work)

    Bob Martin

    December 8, 2006 at 6:50 pm

  3. Something about your post reminded me of my favorite quote from a very good movie called Babette’s Feast. The quote is something like “Throughout the world sounds one long cry from the heart of the artist. Give me the chance to do my very best.”

    And you’re welcomed.

    Love me

    The Kid

    December 9, 2006 at 7:00 am

  4. I love this post and the painting. She is so beautiful! Those blue eyes…with so much feeling, I love your art Bob!
    I sometimes think about my early twenties, how much I wasted time working in an office and not painting, glad I have found my way out of it.
    It was until I had my daughter that I have realized what I really wanted from life, before I had no ambition no understanding of the big picture. Now when I pick up my paintbrush I feel just like you and everything else makes sense…

    Angela Ferreira

    December 9, 2006 at 10:53 pm

  5. Hi Angela and thanks. I love hearing from you. You are both kind and generous.

    It’s interesting how kids, when we are paying attention to them, will guide us towards clarity in our own life. Everything seems to make sense.

    May a paint brush be always with us.

    Bob Martin

    December 9, 2006 at 11:11 pm

  6. Bob,

    Have just spent a lovely amount of time looking through your archives. I love your work. This post is a lovely, and I could hardly tear myself away from Blue Angel. I feel as if your paintings cross the boundary between body and soul.

    Robin Janning

    December 10, 2006 at 3:11 pm

  7. Such a symbolic post with the alarm clock. And it’s interesting to hear that you really didn’t start exploring the arts until later in life. But in the same token, it really wasn’t until my early twenties that my art held depth. I suppose that art does become more deeply intertwined with meaning as we age and experience more in life.

    Natalie Roberts

    December 10, 2006 at 3:31 pm

  8. Hi Robin, thanks for visiting. I am thrilled that you could “hear me”. With every painting I am hopeful that I will cross some boundary that goes beyond skill and technique. Body and soul is a “WOW” for me. Thanks

    Bob Martin

    December 10, 2006 at 4:42 pm

  9. Hi Natalie, thank you for visiting. I didn’t realize how symbolic the clock thing was. As I think about it, it seems to point to a number of different meanings. Like time running out etc. But when I first wrote the post I don’t think that was my original intention.

    I believe that one of the things that happens to a person as they get older or younger, depending on your viewpoint on age, is that we discharge all of the “should do” from our vocabulary and pay attention more to what it is that we find compelling. Resistance to ourselves becomes a pointless exercise.

    When ever it is that you, me, all of us find depth in our life and work, that is a beautiful and meaningful day. I think.

    Bob Martin

    December 10, 2006 at 4:57 pm

  10. Hi Bob,
    I just found you and wanted to say THANK YOU for linking my blog to yours in such a grandious way! I have linked yours to mine, and wanted to say how much I love your work. That self portrait makes me want to meet up with you in the city for a cup of joe. We should go to the Met sometime, and chat about Art.
    Can’t wait to see what you do next,
    Happy holidays!
    Mark

    mark oberndorf

    December 11, 2006 at 4:47 pm

  11. Happy Holidays to you Mark. I am planning on being in NY next year for a show. Lets have that cup of joe then, maybe at one of the coffee shops you’ve painted.

    Bob Martin

    December 11, 2006 at 5:19 pm


Leave a Reply

