Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

Making a Still Life Distinctly Your

with 6 comments

I like looking at still life paintings but seem to get frustrated when attempting to do one myself. What makes my painting different? The problem I find is that the subject is so matter of fact, with out expression. It’s like playing tennis against a backboard. It never moves and never misses. You have to exert a lot of your self so that you show up in the painting. It’s a good challenge 🙂

Written by Bob Martin

February 2, 2007 at 5:21 pm

Posted in Art, Painting

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is gorgeous by the way. I have a similiar “eh” relationship with landscape paintings. I love to look at them, but I have never been impressed with my own attempts. I just re-watched “Dreams” by Akira Kurosawa and was going to mention the scene where Akira meets Vincent Van Gogh in your other blog, Review. But, since we are on the subject. Scene: Van Gogh is in the meadow with his easel. Akira approaches.

    VINCENT : Why aren’t you painting? To me this scene is beyond belief! (points to haystacks)…. A scene that looks like a painting does not make a painting. If you take the time and look closely, all of nature has its own beauty. And when that natural beauty is there, I just lose myself in it. And then, as if it’s in a dream, the scene just paints itself for me.

    Yes, I consume this natural setting, I devour it completely and whole. And then, when I’m through, the picture appears before me complete …. But it’s so difficult to hold it inside.

    Akira: Then …. What do you do?

    VINCENT [emphatically]: I work! I slave! I drive myself like a locomotive!

    auntiecarrie

    February 2, 2007 at 6:12 pm

  2. I think that you have captured this still life very well. It can be a frustrating medium to paint, and one that I myself do not paint very much. I do however love to look at them, and I think you have done very well with your challenge. I just opened a blog that features different art daily. It is new so it is a bit of my work, but other artists have started to contact me about it, and I just posted my first piece that an artist let me feature today. I hope as the blog grows that it will be a way to share talented works such as yours. Let me know, I would be happy to feature your work. If not that is ok too, great job on this. Thank you for sharing!

    Cheers!

    Shawn Nacona

    nacona77

    February 2, 2007 at 6:36 pm

  3. Auntiecarrie
    What a wonderful observation by Kurosawa. The quote attributed to Van Gogh is very powerful and speaks in a way to my earlier post on what it takes.

    Bob Martin

    February 2, 2007 at 6:44 pm

  4. Hi Shawn
    Thanks for the visit. When I look at CĂ©zanne’s still life paintings, I wonder what else can be said but I try to find a voice (mine) that might reveal to viewers something new. Thanks for your comments, I will be in touch with shortly about your project.

    Bob Martin

    February 2, 2007 at 6:52 pm

  5. Bob – Thanks for posting this – I have a dear friend who has devoted herself mostly to painting still life. She, I am sending to your site – because you are speaking visually with a consistent voice will encourage her to search out the voice she feels most closely approximates her own vision.

    suburbanlife

    February 2, 2007 at 7:38 pm

  6. i love this still life of yours – the way you’ve composed it, the colours – all of it!

    Ujwala

    February 8, 2007 at 4:51 pm


Leave a Reply

