Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

Some more on what it takes

with 3 comments

I’ve been busy painting and have been challenged by my results.

Understanding what needs to happen in order for me to be satisfied with a painting is not enough. I’ve got to do it and do it often. I “believe” the more you work the better you get.

So in the spirit of creating rules, here is my list of most important rules.

  • Paint or draw every day
  • Complete at least one painting every week
  • Start a new painting every week
  • Acknowledge how fortunate I am.

I really wish that this was longer and more profound, and I could turn it into a best selling book, but life turns out to be simple.

I’ve noticed that when I am not painting, I worry about everything. When I am painting, I’m pretty happy. Bobby McFerrin had a point.

Written by Bob Martin

February 2, 2007 at 4:28 pm

Posted in Art, Painting, Paintings

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes, living artistically always seems to be more difficult when you’re not doing anything…but sometimes you’ve gotta find your own way of inner connecting with your inner muse. For me, it was a trip to the bookstore today.

    Natalie

    February 3, 2007 at 8:46 am

  2. the last point i firmly believe in – being fortunate but the first 3 i need to put into practice. 😀

    Ujwala

    February 4, 2007 at 5:32 am

  3. Bob, I just love this portrait…it shows me the observant watchful nature of this person, and i like to see the way you have sculpted the facial features with value and colour. really enjoy checking in to see your portrait work.

    Sally

    February 9, 2007 at 2:52 am


Leave a Reply

