Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

Still Life Paintings-Going Back In Time

with 4 comments

I mentioned in an earlier post my efforts to create my personal view on Still Life painting. These two paintings were done back in 1992 and have been hanging in my house for the last five years. I look at them every day but not from the point of view that I had painted them.

I have no recollection of my painting them or what it was that I was thinking at the time. I like them, they are rather direct with no effort to be an exact representation of the objects.

Written by Bob Martin

February 19, 2007 at 11:40 pm

Posted in Art, Painting

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like them too…and relate to your experience in looking at them. Like you I’ve often looked at older paintings of mine with a feeling of “who did that?” And also have marveled at the freedom and directness with which they were done. Especially during my time in graduate school. it seems I would paint whatever came into my head or out of the brushes, and my colors were very bold and intense. I keep a few of these reminders of my wilder side around…we can learn from our younger selves once in awhile I guess.

    Rebecca

    February 22, 2007 at 1:45 pm

  2. I’m excited to hear you talking about this subject as it’s something I’m thinking a lot about right now. At my show (thanks for your kind words) people asked questions about the paintings and I realized I had a story for most of them. They were painted for a reason, not just to copy what I saw. The ones without that feeling or view were less interesting to me. That view is what makes your work exciting, I think. It comes through in the colors you choose, your brush strokes and composition and always has something to say, though subtly so the viewer gets to use their own imagination to fill in the blanks.

    Jana Bouc

    March 4, 2007 at 5:16 pm

  3. Rebecca, sorry its taken me so long to respond to your comments. Often there is this place that want to hang out in our mind that’s about pure creativity. The type of creativity that you are just sure you have nothing to do with it. Such joy.

    Bob Martin

    March 5, 2007 at 3:46 am

  4. Hi again Jana, I believe when we paint or do anything that is creative we are saying to our audience “Would you like to see what I see?”

    Bob Martin

    March 5, 2007 at 3:49 am


Leave a Reply

