Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

Why we are here

with 4 comments

Now that I am over much of my computer issues and can focus on art I came across a couple of photos (hidden on my PC) that I had forgotten about. Over the last ten years or more I’ve had an opportunity to be taught creativity by pre-school young people. When I am around a bunch of kids, I learn all over again that art like life is to serious to take seriously. There is so much joy in watching kids paint flying dogs for Valentine’s Day or green hearts for Mother’s Day. When ever I get an invitation to work with young people, I say sure, why not, I’ll be there. Then I experience an unimaginable fear as if I were meeting the Queen and I wonder why I did I say yes. The answers comes within two seconds after meeting the kids.

Written by Bob Martin

March 21, 2007 at 5:45 pm

Posted in Art, Artists, Painting

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I recently taught a portrait class to a group of homeless children. It’s an absolutely amazing and humbling experience. I love to hear about artists in the classroom.

    Ashley Cecil

    March 22, 2007 at 10:52 am

  2. Oh, yes! I know just what you mean! It is sheer gut-wrenching fear, followed by unvarnished pleasure and finding some new things one does not know! Kids or students of all ages have so much to teach! Thanks for this reminder.

    suburbanlife

    March 22, 2007 at 3:51 pm

  3. I love working with kids. I was fortunate enough to teach kids how to make kites and then we would go outside and fly their own little creations. So so fun!! I love the painting at the top of this page!!!!

    Judy

    March 22, 2007 at 4:37 pm

  4. I love how proud each of those children is of their work and I bet they thoroughly enjoyed making the paintings too. Lately I’ve been trying to take that approach with my own work and quit being so darn serious about it. I clicked over to read the About Me page to see if that was you in the picture with the kids. I love your self-portrait. You look like such a giving, kind man and you’re such a great painter. The kids are lucky to have you sharing the joy of painting with them.

    Jana Bouc

    March 31, 2007 at 5:43 am


Leave a Reply

