Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

People We Know

with 4 comments

I usually stay away from themes, the stories in my paintings are not consistent from one painting to another, except that I normally say I am complete with a painting once I recognize the people who are in the painting. I don’t really know them, but they look to me like people who I would know.

It’s the faces that inspire me. I imagine the conversation that they are about to have, what concerns them and have they figured out the answer yet.

I’ve often heard writers talk about the dreams they have for the characters they’ve created for their novels.

Written by Bob Martin

April 7, 2007 at 5:24 pm

Posted in Art, Books, Paintings

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Faces are the most interesting thing to paint I agree…I admire your ability to conjure up the faces in your work. Do you keep playing around with tones and colour until you find the desirous effect?…I love painting people too, but get lost without a model. I like your bravity.

    Sally

    April 9, 2007 at 4:54 am

  2. Hi Sally and thanks. I find what works for me is to not worry about the exactness or the correctness of the face or pose. There are a lot of other artists who do a much better job at capturing “realness”. I work with out a model most times but use a butch of reference materials and a mirror when I am lost, like with the hands, both are mine in the painting of the couple. That’s why her hand is so large but I decided that I would leave it like that and maybe it would add more to the story.

    Bob Martin

    April 9, 2007 at 10:04 am

  3. Bob,
    The woman in yellow painting is very beautiful. I could look at it and I still cant get the woman to look at me…
    Very much enjoyed all three very much but the woman in yellow was my favorite…

    Sunil

    April 12, 2007 at 1:42 pm

  4. Thanks Sunil, I know what you mean, there are just some people who will never look you in the eye, even when you make them up.

    Bob Martin

    April 13, 2007 at 6:17 am


Leave a Reply

