Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

Still Life Composition The does and don’ts

leave a comment »

I came across a “work in progress’ painting by Luis Colon I’m Still Here which I liked a great deal. The artist was not satisfied and made changes which is something I do all the time.

The reasons Luis gave for making his changes had to do with the scale of the objects and I wondered if this the reason I liked the painting so much and why I have my difficulties painting still life’s?

I try very hard to get the relationship and size of the objects correct, but then I lose interest. The scale of the objects in this painting make no sense, but there is something about the painting that I’m beginning to like.

Written by Bob Martin

April 13, 2007 at 10:30 am

Posted in Art, Artists, Painting, Paintings

Leave a Reply

