Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

Learning How to Simplify your Paintings

with 7 comments

One of the most difficult things for me to do, is to leave a painting simple. It is as if I need to prove that I’ve put a lot of work into a painting in order for it to have value. Of course the value is in the ease in which the painting is able to communicate its message.

The same goes for all forms of art, when I think about it. For instance Morey & Feldman’s “Someday My Prince Will Come” Music and Lyrics that translate easily into many interpretive music styles, because of its seeming simplicity.

Written by Bob Martin

July 21, 2007 at 3:59 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Bob,
    Yes you are right…I know what you mean about feeling like you are not done yet, if the painting is simple….I also feel this from time to time. But I am finding that I enjoy the simple ones more and more…you are right, it’s all about communicating that message.

    Sally

    July 23, 2007 at 7:25 pm

  2. Hi Sally
    Keeping it simple is metaphor for life.

    Bob Martin

    July 23, 2007 at 9:13 pm

  3. Bob,
    Nice one!!
    Sunil

    Sunil

    July 27, 2007 at 12:06 pm

  4. Hi Sunil
    Thanks. I’ve been very busy and have not had much time to blog. Hope to get back on track next.

    Bob Martin

    July 27, 2007 at 5:13 pm

  5. The funny thing is that my paintings always tend to be simple, and part of me thinks that maybe I should try more complex pieces. But I also think that sticking to the basics is what makes me stand out out of the crowd sometimes.

    surrealmuse

    July 27, 2007 at 7:25 pm

  6. Hi Surrealmuse
    I think about hearing Miles Davis’ “So What” for the first time, very simple or Beethoven’s’ 9th. Better yet for me a painting by Modigliani.

    Sincere offerings

    Bob Martin

    July 27, 2007 at 8:25 pm

  7. […] fellow art blogger, Bob Martin, wrote a post the other day on how it’s difficult for him to keep his paintings simple: It is as if I need […]


Leave a Reply

