Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

Welcome to the Desert

with 6 comments

Tempe Center for the Arts

Tempe Center for the Arts

The City of Tempe Arizona has been under going a change to its skyline. The new Tempe Center for the Arts’s structure is a eye catcher as you drive east or west on the state highway 202.

Inside the center there is a combination of the elegance of natural wood, glass, steel and concrete and reminds me of the lofts and galleries of New York’s Chelsea and Soho.

One of the features at the new building will be a 3,500 foot gallery, featuring the works of local artist.

Everyday

Written by Bob Martin

August 6, 2007 at 7:53 pm

Posted in Art, Artists, Galleries, Museums

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What amazes me about contemporary architecture of Art Galleries is the sheer material wastefulness of the designs – in that the elaborately convoluted rooflines run counter to the need for conservation of resources, both structural and interior ambient condition environments. For example, the illustration of the Tempe Art Centre you provided here shows the massive use of glazing. To cool this building in a hot climate such as Arizona would take much air-conditioning, the glazing acts as a passive source of solar heat which must be counteracted by increased function of air-conditioners. Really Wasteful!
    By the bye – I like the use of cool blue/green on this chap’s face and also your use of violet browns for the skin tones – just yummy use of colour! Wow! G

    suburbanlife

    August 7, 2007 at 6:38 am

  2. Hi Suburbanlife
    Insightful about the wastefulness issues at the TCA. These issues may have been addressed by the architects, but I don’t know. I toured the facility while it was under construction and there was an explanation about its (the building’s) efficiencies. It made perfect sense at the time, but your concerns are worth my asking about this again (as a citizen).

    Thanks for your comments on this painting. I like the way it turned out. At one point I was very frustrated with it and took my palette knife and crushed a big block of blue paint into the skin. Surprise.

    Bob Martin

    August 7, 2007 at 7:15 am

  3. Thanks for this post…I got my grad degree at ASU in 1985 and have not been back since, but I loved Tempe when I lived there. Nothing very grand in the way of art spaces back then, it was a pretty funky place. I expect there is quite a different feel nowadays. I plan to be in the area in October and I will definitely check this new building. Looks beautiful.

    Rebecca

    August 7, 2007 at 5:38 pm

  4. Rebecca, when was the last time you visited this area. I’ve only been living here for six years and all of the cities have grown. It is a little like kids playing with erector sets, a new building every hour.

    Bob Martin

    August 8, 2007 at 9:04 pm

  5. I was last there the year I graduated from ASU, in 1985. No doubt I will hardly recognize it when I’m there (I’ll be visiting my gallery in Scottsdale, Wilde Meyer) and I’ll probably be sorry about that. When I was a student it was only about an hour’s drive into real wilderness/desert and that’s one thing I loved.

    Rebecca

    August 15, 2007 at 10:23 am

  6. When my wife and I moved here we thought we lived in the wilderness/desert. Our first day we had two bobcats in the backyard and javelinas walking down the middle of the street. They are still around but we don’t see them as often.

    Bob Martin

    August 15, 2007 at 12:00 pm


Leave a Reply

