Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

More on Joy

with 4 comments

I am most likely the least positive thinking person in my family and feel sometimes overwhelmed with all the happy thoughts going around here. But it works, it does make a difference to the people you come in contact with. Cybel’s post today on Auntie Carrie illustrate how little you need to do in order to bring some joy to someone’s life.

Written by Bob Martin

August 14, 2007 at 10:32 am

Posted in Teaching

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s been a little while since I’ve looked at your blog…thankyou for posting the demo of the portrait, always interesting to see how another artist works. Nice rich colour… I like the woman’s face below the demo’s too.

    Sally

    August 28, 2007 at 5:57 pm

  2. I’d love to be able to decipher how I paint. It’s seems less methodical though I’m sure I have some way that I go about putting paint on canvas for my dancing ladies. I’ll bet it was fun and developmental going to the Art’s Student League. In my next life, or I’ll continue with my painting career. Perhaps that’s what I’m doing in some parallel universe. Anyway, keep up the great work.

    JM

    August 31, 2007 at 8:54 am

  3. Thanks Joel. Going to ASL for me was a way to get comfortable in my own skin and style painting. There was so much diversity in the way people worked, that it became OK for me to create my own process. Some schools look to lock an artist into what is right, acceptable and safe. Painting like everything else in our life is about being ourselves. In truth we all fail at being someone else.

    Bob Martin

    August 31, 2007 at 4:55 pm

  4. Hi Sally and thanks. My doing the demo was helpful to me also.

    Bob Martin

    August 31, 2007 at 4:57 pm


Leave a Reply

