Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

Progression and Moving Own to a New Subject

with 9 comments

I’ve been repeating this theme of a man and his child for close to 12 years. I’ve never been totally satisfied with the paintings that I’ve created (I may never be). This painting is as closed to what I wanted to say today and so I think it’s time to move on to a new topic. Man&child7I am committed to created 50 new painting in 2008, and I’m going cheat by getting starting now. Why wait until New Years!

acrylicsketch.jpg windowslivewriterfolkstories-1058alittlemen-thumb.png  
 
     
Written by Bob Martin

November 9, 2007 at 11:04 am

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. these are all fabulous! have you decided on a topic for the next 50?

    Ujwala

    November 9, 2007 at 11:24 pm

  2. Hi Ujwala
    I think I have more to say about couples.

    Bob Martin

    November 10, 2007 at 12:07 am

  3. I like these paintings Bob. Very touching. I saw a really big blow-up photo in the window of the Gap today in downtown Toronto. It was a gorgeous photo portrait of a man and his child. It stopped me walking by, just to look at it and to identify the joy between the two.

    Sally

    November 11, 2007 at 5:47 pm

  4. Thanks Sally. We are often being hit over the head with images that are not pleasant and when we see images of people caring about one another it awakens us to who we might be.

    Bob Martin

    November 12, 2007 at 4:06 am

  5. Bob,
    These are such beautiful images! I look forward to your “50 in 08” paintings. (I committed to 50 mini paintings myself in a moment of impulse, and now that I’m on #10 I’m thinking “What WAS I thinking?” 🙂 Actually, it’s probably a good thing since it drives makes me to experiment and try new techniques. Good luck!!!
    Peggi

    peggi

    November 12, 2007 at 7:03 am

  6. Hi Peggi and thanks. The commitment to 50 paintings is a good thing. I did a painting a day for a while and I discovered for myself a sense of accomplishment at the end of the day. I figured, “I’ve signed up to be a painter” so I better get to painting. Thanks for visiting and have fun.
    Bob

    Bob Martin

    November 12, 2007 at 7:30 am

  7. Beautiful portraiture. Thanks for sharing them.

    Karen Winters

    November 13, 2007 at 1:05 pm

  8. Hi and thanks Karen

    Bob Martin

    November 13, 2007 at 6:26 pm

  9. It’s amazing that you’ve been working with the same subject for so long and have just now felt you said what needed to be said. Talk about persistence and committment!

    There is such depth and mystery and dignity in both the father’s and the baby’s faces. Your paintings always move me to feel so many different feelings.

    Jana Bouc

    November 15, 2007 at 11:50 pm


Leave a Reply

