Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

People I Know: In Paint and Words

with 11 comments

IManshead WP have been working on my first book of paintings I’ve called “People I know” It been a fun project so far and I still need two or three more small paintings to fill out the pages. These two paintings are in progress and because I had a specific use for them, I’ve been working more deliberately then I normally would in resolving them. Sometimes it is a good idea to wait and see what the painting is calling for.Womens Head WP

Written by Bob Martin

December 28, 2007 at 4:12 pm

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Both portraits look fantastic, I almost prefer them unresolved. They have a wonderful quiet and contemplative look about them.

    Ambera

    December 30, 2007 at 1:57 am

  2. What a terrific idea for a book of portraits! I’ll check back and see when it’s complete. I always get a lift coming by your blog.

    Susan Carlin

    December 30, 2007 at 8:18 am

  3. Ambera, I know exactly what you mean and I try very hard not to over work the paintings. Two things happen for me 1) I want the painting to look fresh and 2) to look finished. Often this is a conflict in my brain. By taking my time I should be able to make better decisions and accomplish both task. We will see.
    Happy New Year and Be Well

    Bob Martin

    December 30, 2007 at 11:23 am

  4. Hi Susan, I should be complete with the book in the next couple of weeks and intend to make a lot of noise about my completing this project. Thanks for stopping by and I am pleased that you get “a lift” from your visit to my site.

    Happy New Year to you.

    Bob Martin

    December 30, 2007 at 11:26 am

  5. Just checking in on your wonderful portraits, I always enjoy them. Love this one with the bald guy, in these violets and orange /reds.

    Sally

    December 30, 2007 at 3:02 pm

  6. I’m curious about the book. How is it done? I think a collection of your paintings would be for a great publication.

    Peggi

    January 3, 2008 at 5:08 am

  7. What a great project! I loved reading your comment about not overworking, wanting the painting to both look fresh and finished. It’s always so reassuring to hear even accomplished painters like yourself still trying to work this one out!

    Jana Bouc

    January 3, 2008 at 11:55 pm

  8. Hi Peggi
    I’m trying my hand with “Blurb” which is a self publishing tool that is designed for artist and photographers. My intention is to use my book as a promotional tool vs. trying to make money. So far it’s been fun.

    Bob Martin

    January 4, 2008 at 11:28 am

  9. Hi Jana
    Your work and notes would be great for creating a book. I am using “Blurb” which would be perfect for you. I am having fun doing this and feel that it will support the workshop that I’m in the process of creating. (more to come).

    Re: Fresh and finished. It is really difficult for me to do. I see myself like those people who always need to have the last word. Sometimes my paintings say “stop!, I’m done” and I say, “no let me add this color or line” etc. This is were I get all messed up, because every addition made to finish the painting may take away from the painting’s freshness.

    Bob Martin

    January 4, 2008 at 11:44 am

  10. Hi Sally and Happy New Year to you as well.

    Bob Martin

    January 4, 2008 at 11:52 am

  11. Love the loose brush work and skin colors. Portrait well done.

    david lobenberg

    February 16, 2008 at 8:44 pm


Leave a Reply

