Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

Playing who is the Best Game

with 3 comments

After spending weeks following sports, you come away feeling that there is a top ten to every subject. Who are the top ten “Point Guards” to ever play the game. Who are the best Golfer to ever, who is or was the best putter, who the best sports announcer. It seems fitting and at the same time unrealistic to declare best ever in sports. This concept I believe does not lend itself to the creative arts. I don’t see art as being at all competitive, it’s more about what you like or appreciate.

Because I’ve spent so much time following basketball I’ve not worked on many painting of my own. So I will share a number of artist, who’s work I feel has been important to me. (Key words “to me”).

All three of these artist for today’s post were introduced to me by Harvey Dinnerstein. I feel that they have influence how I see my paintings.

I believe “The Tate” has the largest collection of Gwen John’s painting. On my only trip to London, I was disappointed to see that they only had one painting on exhibit, having just pulled a complete showing of her work a week or two before.

When Isabel Bishop passed away, there was a small and brief exhibit of her work in New York. I did not know much about here but loved her work. There is a small work of here at the Phoenix Art Museum, and always look for it when I visit the museum.

Mary Beth McKenzie, teaches at the Art Students League of New York. When I was living in New York, she had a one person show and has a good book (if you can find) “A Painterly Approach”.

Gwen Johns Isabel Bishop Mary Beth McKenzie

Well I just completed something. This is an unauthorized painting of Cybel that I did from memory. This is a lot easier to do then you might think. I recognize my family in my paintings all the time and spend days trying to loose the resemblance.

Cybel

Written by Bob Martin

April 17, 2008 at 5:11 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Interesting how the red comes forward and the face recedes into the background. Lovely effect!

    ambera

    April 21, 2008 at 6:33 pm

  2. Hi Ambera and thanks but the effect was totally by accident

    Bob Martin

    April 23, 2008 at 4:16 pm

  3. I think i will give it a try…painting a face from memory that is…, sounds fun…this one worked beautifully!

    Sally

    April 27, 2008 at 5:56 pm


Leave a Reply

