Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

Chipped Glass

with 6 comments

Chipped Glass (c) B. Martin '08

I’m asked “Why did you give a certain name to a painting” and I don’t know. Sometimes it just shows up in my head. Nothing deep or heavy, it just sounds right.

This painting was done this morning, mostly with a palette knife and some of glazes and the edges reminded me of glass. That is about a close as I can get to why this name.

Chipped Glass (c) B. Martin ’08
Written by Bob Martin

July 17, 2008 at 10:24 am

Posted in Art, Painting

Tagged with , , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. looks wonderful 😀 i was reading about using palette and other knives for painting with acrylics just yesterday on wetcanvas and today i get to see a wonderful example. thanks.

    Ujwala

    July 18, 2008 at 10:24 pm

  2. Hi Ujwala, I like using a palette knife, the works looks different and pushes my imagination. Like everyone else, I get tired of working the same way all the time and trying something new gives me some need energy.

    Bob Martin

    July 19, 2008 at 8:39 am

  3. I LOVE the effect of a palette knife. I’m always attracted to it. It seems to apply the paint with so much certitude and conviction. The painting looks great!

    artmodel

    July 20, 2008 at 6:59 pm

  4. Hi artmodel, I see you are a New Yorker also. Thanks for visiting and Happy Birthday.

    Bob Martin

    July 21, 2008 at 2:27 pm

  5. Hi, dear Bob Martin. I love your Chipped Glass. Your picture reflects more than just glass bottles- While being glassy, their looks so fundamental as the freestones. That helps to look at the blazing surfaces from a different angle and thus a visual story touches – pierces with something above the wordy definition. Thank you for the sharing. Let me invite you to my on http://candleday.wordpress.com/ I hope you will enjoy the pictures that may be found in the archives of my blog. I hope to get your comments and thus eagerly look forward to your reply. Thanks once again.

    Tomas

    July 23, 2008 at 5:48 am

  6. Thanks Tomas, I looking over all of your sites now.

    Bob Martin

    July 23, 2008 at 9:11 am


Leave a Reply

