Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

Runways

with 4 comments

My first working experience was in the New York Fashion Industry, 7th Ave as it was called. I don’t think we thought of it as an industry.

I got to meet people like Richard Blauner, (who gave me two ties from A. Sulka) Jerry Silverman, Herbert Sondheim and others. I was one of the first to see the original dresses and coats as they came back from the Paris Fashion Shows. In other words – I was in shipping. But none the less, I still admired the beauty of what I was seeing.

This painting is a layout of a series of paintings having to do with fashion for a show this winter.

Written by Bob Martin

August 22, 2008 at 9:24 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautiful! The orange background wow!

    Angela

    August 23, 2008 at 3:08 pm

  2. Mmmm, very nice. Love those saturated hues.

    Ambera

    August 25, 2008 at 5:38 am

  3. Remember the Saffron Gates against the blue sky?

    http://artandperception.com/2008/02/does-saffron-spell-dissent.html

    Birgit

    September 7, 2008 at 8:08 am

  4. When I post these sketches (or starts) knowing that they will eventually evolve into a painting that may be very different then how it started out, there is this concern that I not let the people down. That what the painting becomes is ‘better” then what it was. But there is no better.

    Thanks Birgit, Ambera and Angela

    Bob Martin

    September 7, 2008 at 8:40 am


Leave a Reply

