Knowing –Art of Learning

Art of Learning

Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater is 50 Years Old

with 4 comments

Picture credit: Andrew Eccles

When living in New York, I would receive as a birthday present every December, tickets to a performance of the Alvin Ailey Dance Theater. The event was always trans-formative

“You must enjoy every moment of this,”

Judith Jamison

Congratulation to Judith Jamison, who has done an incredible job and to everyone who is in involved with this wonderful dance company.

Written by Bob Martin

December 6, 2008 at 7:05 pm

Posted in Art, Dance

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree! I did not attend this year, as funds are tight — but I am so glad they are continuing to wow crowds after all these years and so much struggle. Their acclaim is well-deserved!

    pintada

    December 8, 2008 at 2:52 pm

  2. Transformative indeed. I will never forget when my parents took me to see “Revelations”. One of the most vivid memories of my youth, and an inspiring, mind-blowing experience. They were absolutely brilliant.

    Thanks for the post!

    artmodel

    December 28, 2008 at 12:13 am

    • Hi there artmodel-Going to see Ailey was for me an opportunity to surround myself with every aspect of art. I once saw them at Berkley where they did “Forgotten Time” to the music and singing of the Le Mystere des Voix Bulgares which was so beautiful and mournful that I had to stay quiet and by myself after the performance for about 10 min.
      Thanks for visiting

      Bob Martin

      December 28, 2008 at 11:26 am


Leave a Reply

